20
Oct
07

Memories of the Laughter

Yesterday I had found out my grandfather died of a massive heart attack.  A man of eighty-two he in no means a spring chicken, but he was still my grandfather.  So the laughing have died for me so I can focus on reflecting on my grandfather.

I remember a lot of great things that have happened with my grandfather present, like how he would always poke fun at the ‘smith boys’ (We have a large family that lived in the same time for a long time, and so the family would separate itself by last name) by calling us each others names.  Billy was Damien, Damien was Billy, Christian was Daniel and I was Christian, Demian, and Billy.  He loved to egg people on. 

He was a smart man, and the sole person that kept the family from starting a war.  He was always irrelevant, a wonderfully witty old man.  

My dad told me a story of how my Granddad, a WWII vet, survived parachuting into a Nazi camp.   The Nazi soldiers were so hungry that they forgot about my grandfather and just took his pack of supplies.  My grandfather ran, knowing if he stayed he would have been killed.

I love you grandpa and I will always cherish the memories you have provided me.

2 Responses to “Memories of the Laughter”


  1. 1 me
    October 21, 2007 at 10:22 am

    i’m so sorry hun

  2. February 20, 2008 at 6:54 am

    Pics or it didn’t happened.


Leave a Reply

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Pages


